A recurring theme here will probably be happiness, and finding things to be happy about. This is because I have found that is healthy to do so, I spent too many years worrying about little things and letting larger issues rule over me. So at one point, I think this was near the end of high school I told myself I had had enough of melancholy and started to work on changing my outlook. The easiest way to lift my spirits has been through music. So with that in mind I share a selection that I dare you to sit through and remain in a bad mood.

In No Particular Order (i.e. just put this on shuffle) –

-“So Close” Jon McLaughlin
-“Sister Kate” The Ditty Bops
-“Generator” The Holloways
-“Suddenly I See” KT Tunstall
-“All For You” Sister Hazel
-“Hands Open” Snow Patrol
-“Some Kind of Wonderful” Grand Funk Railroad
-“Falling For The First Time” Barenaked Ladies
-“Flathead” The Fratellis
-“Untitled” Ingrid Michaelson
-“Bare In The Basin” Gaelic Storm
-“I’m In The Band” The Hellacopters
-“She Moves In Her Own Way” The Kooks
-“Honky Tonk Hiccups” Neko Case
-“The Samurai Set” Gaelic Storm
-“Strange Cup of Tea” Sister Hazel
-“Sinai to Canaan – Part 2” Chris Thile
-“Rockin’ The Suburbs” Ben Folds

and most importantly

-“Burning Love” Elvis Presley

So go shimy like your sister Kate and see if this doesn’t put you in a good mood by the end.

p.s. Because I included one sappy slow song you may sub “So Close” for “Footloose” by Kenny Loggins

