Today I received bad news, a friend from high school passed away suddenly. She was someone who I’d lost contact with over the years and only just recently recontacted with, but all the same this hit me pretty hard.

So many of my memories of my last year or so in high school involved Megan to some extent. I remember silly things, like being jealous of her beautiful long blond hair and the way she could pull off the sparkly eyeliner style. She always had interesting things and more interesting stories.

We were in theatre and band together. We were part of a huge group of Rent-heads, we even dressed as the cast for Halloween that year, and to this day one of my best high school memories in that performance of Rent we all got to see together. We all got dressed up, Rent-style of course, and got to see the show from the third row, our group took up almost the center section. At the part where a character is supposed to get the audience to Moo, we moo-ed so loud on the first try that the actress broke character for a moment. We all laughed, sang along a little, danced a little and cried a lot. At the end of the night we all stood in the high school parking lot singing the music to each other as loud as we possibly could.

In our high school theatre we had little family groups of “moms”, “dads”, “aunts” and “uncles”, even a few “kids”. She was one of the crazy aunts in my little theatre family and The Theatre Mom to most of us. In those days that fake-family was one of the most important things to me.

She’s also responsible for helping me get my first and only black eye at the last cast party of the year; right before that band trip to Florida. Though I’m still too embarrassed to say exactly how that all went down.

This morning I pulled up my facebook account and saw the announcement and was shocked. More shocking was that in a matter of minutes I was sending and receiving messages from people I had lost contact with, parted on less-than-good terms on and to this day a few people I still don’t know that well. But we all had the same goal; we all wanted to make sure everyone else knew and was okay. It’s a beautiful thing, I knew and continue to know some amazing people from almost ten years ago.

We will all learn so much from her life and her passing, and we will always remember her.

Rent will always be something I associate with Megan. So the last song is for you.

525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear.
525,600 minutes – how do you measure, measure a year?
In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee.
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.
In 525,600 minutes – how do you measure a year in the life?
How about love? How about love? How about love? Measure in love.
Seasons of love.

525,600 minutes! 525,000 journeys to plan.
525,600 minutes – how can you measure the life of a woman or man?

In truths that she learned, or in times that he cried.
In bridges he burned, or the way that she died.

It’s time now to sing out,
tho the story never ends let’s celebrate remember a year in the life of friends.
Remember the love!
Remember the love! Remember the love!
Measure in love.
Seasons of love! Seasons of love.

Megan B.
Feb. 14 1984 – June 16 2009

Measured in Love

