The host of this blog-thing isn’t doing one this Friday, but I still wanted too. So here we go …

7 Thankful Quick Takes

1. I am thankful for… Thanksgiving Dinner
~For the first time since Ben and I have been a couple we had our first official Thanksgiving Dinner together, just us and with real, proper Thanksgiving Day food. I cooked for about 3 days, but it was all there in the end and it was lovely.

2. I am thankful for … Oregon
~I live in a beautiful place surrounded by lovely people and lovely scenery. If I can’t have Iowa, I’ll take Oregon any day.

3. I am thankful for … Home.
~One of the things the move to Oregon gave us was a more proper place to live. Sure it’s still an apartment and you can’t open the stove and the refrigerator at the same time, but there are no broke window panes, you can’t race toy cars down the incline of the bathroom floor, not one bird has gotten into any room and we haven’t had anyone try to steal our car in over a year. It’s a nice change.

4. I am thankful for … Family.
~ The more I’m away from our families the more I come to realize how important it is for me to have them in my life. I can’t wait until we are closer to each other again

5. I am thankful for … Work.
~ We both have work; good work. This year and during these times no matter the crazy schedules or crazy people we may have to deal with, this is a blessing.

6. I am thankful for … Time.
~ This year I’ve finally had the time to do a lot of thinking and reflecting on myself and life in general. I feel more like myself than I have in years and it’s mostly due to having just a little more time.

7. I am thankful for … My kitchen table.
~ Right now it has everything I need for a nice weekend. Dr. Pepper, knitting needles, yarn, a mountain of craft stuff, my list of handmade Christmas gifts, my computer and close proximity to the left overs in the fridge.

********************
And because I’m a nerd I’m also thankful at the prospect of watching these on the big screen with a tub of nachos, in no particular order…
1. A Christmas Carol – my favorite Christmas Story
2. The Princess and the Frog – you’re never too old to love Disney and Ben’s excited for the Witch Doctor
3. Avatar – Just looks awesome
4. The Young Victoria – Will be a beautiful costume drama if nothing else
5. The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus – Who hasn’t been waiting to see this?
6. Nine – Will be stunning even if it has Nicole Kidman

and most importantly!!

7. Sherlock Holmes – Every time I see a preview for this I get really freaking giddy… I don’t care if they turned Holmes into a action hero…. It’s Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock Holmes…. Pardon me will I swoon….

