“Holding down the fort”, there’s a lot more to that little phrase than meets the eye. What does it really mean?

Is it keeping those around you warm, clothed and fed? Is it making sure the clothes get washed? Or that the dishes get done? Or that the bills payed?

It is all of these things. On the days when my fort is only whats contained in the four walls of my house than that’s pretty much it. If we’re fed, warm and have clothes on our back than I have succeeded.

However, more often than not the fort is so much bigger, encompassing not just Ben and I, but our families and our friends.

It is days like that when “holding down the fort” takes on a new meaning, a simpler one, but so much harder to attain. There are days when I can’t make sure that everyone is fed, or clothed or even treated fairly and on those days all I can offer is hope and that can be one of the hardest things to offer on a regular basis.

I could cook and clean and do all those little things forever, but sometimes that just isn’t enough. There is always someone around you who needs help in being reminded that there are still those who support them and love them; that tomorrow is another day and there is a reason to keep on fighting. That there is hope.

I might not agree with what they are doing or how they are going about it. I might be scared at how things might affect me in turn, but I have to remember that one of the biggest parts of “holding down the fort” is support and hope and in order to do that you’re required to put your opinions and worries to the side. So I say a prayer and remind myself that tomorrow is a new day.

We must accept finite disappointment, but we must never lose infinite hope.” – MLK Jr.

