Things always coincide in strange ways.  About the time I really decided that teaching History was calling to me, the “scandal” with the Texas History Textbooks changes hit.  I won’t go into detail, but the main part of it was some very particular changes to keep focus on white U.S. historical figures and slanted views on the U.S. reasons for particular decisions in the past.  If you’re interested in more I encourage you to go HERE and see the changes that were made and previous text; the changes are small but quite a few say quite a lot.

Needless to say, while I support patriotism I do not believe that glossing over the questionable decisions in our countries past or past motives does us any good.

Now, I don’t believe I’ll ever find an unbiased high school or middle school history book, yet I still feel responsible for teaching these children not to trust everything they will read.  One of my favorite lesson from a 5th grade history class was getting to see a print out of a British Textbook section about a particular battle against the Americans and the American textbook’s version of it.  I hope to do this sort of thing myself.

But as I was reading this weekend a quote jumped out at me from “An Acceptable Time” by Madeleine L’Engle (which is the last of my favorite series of books from growing up, though some how I missed this one).

“Truth is eternal.  Knowledge is changeable.  It is disastrous to confuse them.”

Perhaps I’ll lead off with it.

