A friend and I started talking about music the other day and ended up spending a while waxing nostalgic about music from our junior high/high school years when we realized that indeed all this music had actually started becoming nostalgic for us.  So many times we said “Oh this is such a bad song!” and “Oh I always hated this one!” but it was quickly followed with “But I actually kind of like it now”.

Sad to say my Itunes library is quickly growing with the likes of music I wouldn’t have been caught dead actually listening too between the ages of 12-18, though secretly bopped around to in my house when the music video came on TV.

Then I stumbled across one song in particular.  I hadn’t listened to it for probably 10 years or so, but I remember turning up the radio whenever it came on.  Listening to it brought back memories of sitting in bed at night listening to the night-time radio – you know when all the requests used to come in- with my 12-year-old hope that one day I hear a song on there for me.  Also the bittersweet memories of hearing this song after my first friend died when I was 13, the song is supposedly about death so I suppose its appropriate.  Strangely enough that summer, that sad, sad summer, is forever ingrained in my memory by the music that played on the radio or in my mothers car.  I can tell you that the Enya cassette was in the player when she turned down the music to tell me about and was still playing the next morning when I bravely insisted that I could go and work at my summer volunteer job.  And that No Doubt’s “Spider Webs” played constantly on the radio and MTV that week.  The song, Sophie B. Hawkins, “As I Lay Me Down”, made me cry for many years afterwords, but now it’s just a piece of nostalgia – something I’ll play for my kids one day and when they make a face for it being a silly old song I’ll get to explain why I still play it and what it reminds me of and maybe it will make them pay a little bit more attention to what they’re listening too.

